Kurt Busch holds off Jimmie Johnson at Martinsville

Kurt Busch was able to hold off the red hot Jimmie Johnson and take the checkered flag from Martinsville Speedway this afternoon. Kurt Busch broke an 83-race winless streak in a dramatic comeback to get his first victory as a member of Stewart-Haas racing.

Kurt made the dramatic pass on Jimmie Johnson with 10 laps to go in the STP 500. Jimmie Johnson led 296 of 500 laps and was almost untouchable at stretches during this race. Kurt Busch was able to track him down after a rough start and reach victory lane for the first time since October of 2011.

This season has been one unlike another as in six Sprint Cup races, we have seen six different winners. The new format by NASCAR has really brought excitement back to racing as drivers now feel the need more than ever to get into victory lane and in turn all but punch their ticket into the Chase.

The top 10 from Martinsville were (in exact order): Kurt Busch, Jimmie Johnson, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Joey Logano, Marcos Ambrose, Matt Kenseth, Kevin Harvick, Aric Amirola, Clint Bowyer, and Paul Menard. With the veteran Jeff Gordon finishing just outside of the top 10 in 12th position.

The Sprint Cup Standings following Martinsville are as follows (in order): Dale Earnhardt Jr, Matt Kenseth (-9), Carl Edwards (-10), Jeff Gordon (-11), and Jimmie Johnson (-18) rounding out the top 5.

Next week NASCAR heads to Texas Motor Speedway for The Duck Commander 500.

Follow Frank Pimentel on Twitter @FrankTank96

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: